The Engine Room, 2 Newhall Square, was built in 1838 and was the premises of Sir Josiah Mason and George Elkington, who developed the first effective electroplating process.
Elkington initiated the manufacture of everyday affordable ‘silverware’. Elkington works remained on site until the 1960s, after which it was converted into the Museum of Science and Industry by Birmingham City Council. As part of the development, historic buildings were retained, restored and salvaged, materials re-used within the restoration process as permanent records of Newhall Square’s unique heritage.
In 2013, The Engine Room (Grade II listed building) received planning and listed building consent for the refurbishment, becoming the new home of GNA on the 1st November 2013. GNA have restored and designed the building to create 6,000 sq.ft of contemporary office accommodation, whilst retaining the original features.